"16 Visions of Ex-Futur"
1. Itken Aina (I'm Always Crying) by Jaakko Eino Kalevi
2. My Kind of Doll by Forever Pavot
3. The Aboriginal Variations by Marc Collin
4. Afflux de luxe by Laetitia Sadier
5. I'm Always Crying by Lena Willikens
6. Veronika Winken by Bullion
7. Je pleure tout le temps by Flavien Berger

Impressed and charmed by Véronique Vincent & Aksak Maboul's acclaimed 'lost' avant-pop opus , a host of artists from all over the place have launched into reinterpretations of the songs from Ex-Futur Album

The result is this, a full album containing 16 reinterpretations (covers and reworks) created by:

Jaakko Eino Kalevi (the young Finnish artist, whose latest album of strange elegant pop is out on Domino)
Forever Pavot (the illegitimate son of Ennio Morricone and The Zombies?)
Marc Collin (the French composer who is the brain behind projects such as Nouvelle Vague)
Laetitia Sadier (Stereolab's legendary voice, now a solo artist)
Lena Willikens (one of Germany's rising DJs)
Bullion (aka eccentric London popster Nathan Jenkins)
Flavien Berger (the rising star of French electro pop)
Aquaserge (the formidable & influential experimental pop band)
Capitol K (another great British eccentric, musician & producer Kristian Craig Robinson)
Nite Jewel (California's Ramona Gonzalez, known for her conceptual revisitation of 80s pop/dance)
Hello Skinny (London's Tom Skinner, who collaborates with the likes of Grime, Matthew Herbert and Mulatu Astatke)
Burnt Friedman (the eminent German electronic music artist) 
Easy & C.O.U. (the Norwegian duet who are exponents of the joyful underground style known as 'skweee')
Bérangère Maximin (the rebellious electroacoustic composer and sonic sculptor)
...and, last but not least,  the 2016 line-up of Aksak Maboul,  with two freshly-recorded "self-covers", with surprise appearances by members of Kasai Allstars and Aquaserge.

Already heralded by an EP containing versions of the song Je pleure tout le temps (including Flavien Berger's cover and already-popular video), 16 Visions of Ex-Futur  comes out on October 14, 2016, on double vinyl LP, digital and CD.

To extend the fun, Véronique Vincent & Aksak Maboul will celebrate the release of 16 Visions of Ex-Futur by playing a series of special shows in Paris, Brussels, Frankfurt and London, featuring Laetitia Sadier, Jaakko Eino Kalevi and Aquaserge. On these unique concerts (dubbed AKSAK MABOUL 'REVUE'), this ephemeral 9-piece band will be performing Aksak Maboul music as well as some of the guests' respective material.
Dates HERE

From the press on Véronique Vincent & Aksak Maboul’s Ex-Futur Album:

“A floating pop dream” (The Quietus, UK)
“A miracle of subversive electropop... Too avant-garde at the time, perfect for today” (Les Inrockuptibles, FR)
“So ahead of the curve it sounds like it was recorded yesterday” (The Crack, UK)
“Adorably unfinished and delightfully imperfect.”(Vogue, DE)
“Brilliant, bouncy, and astonishingly modern” (Libération, FR)
“How Unique, Veronique… This is electro-pop ambrosia” (Record Collector, UK)

… and on their 2015/2016 concerts:

“The pop immediacy of the songs is enriched by experimental tangents, between electronic music, krautrock and jazz, which raise the bar to unexpected heights.” (Le Soir, BE)
“A miracle: the resurrected Aksak Maboul unfolds a brand of synthetic, carnal pop, with fat, enchanting grooves, sparkling melodies and lyrics.” (Telerama, FR)


Ex-Futur Album
THE HONEYMOON KILLERS - Les Tueurs de la Lune de Miel
Les Tueurs de la Lune de Miel
AKSAK MABOUL - Onze danses pour combattre la migraine (vinyl reissue)
Onze danses pour combattre la migraine (vinyl reissue)
AKSAK MABOUL - Onze danses pour combattre la migraine
Onze danses pour combattre la migraine