"Volti - Corazon (1986)"

L’électro-latino hip hop pop d’un duo new-yorkais (US/MX)
 
Durant un séjour à Mexico City en 1980, le jeune new-yorkaise Lyndell Brookhouse fait une rencontre fortuite qui changera sa vie, lorsqu’elle croise une bande de punks qui comprend Eddie Rubello, et découvre la délirante scène underground locale. Le duo part ensuite s’installer dans l’appartement de Lyndell, dans le Lower East Side de NYC, et s’immerge dans la scène artistique new yorkaise du début des années 80. « Si vous étiez peintre, vous jouiez également dans un groupe, et si vous étiez musicien vous faisiez aussi de la peinture ou des films » raconte Lyndell, « c’était une période extraordinaire : le développement d’une communauté comprenant des centaines d’artistes (dont émergeront Basquiat, Keith Haring, Madonna et tant d’autres), une communauté réellement intéressée par l’art, avant l’époque des téléphones portables, des restaurants chics-branchés et de l’internet. C’est là que Volti est né ».
 
Eddie maîtrise rapidement l’art de créer des sons avec un Commodore 64 (l’un des premiers ordinateurs personnels), des synthés & boîtes à rythmes, Volti commence à faire des morceaux. « Nous étions deux gamins qui confectionnions de la musique électronique à couleur latine, au sein d’une scène new yorkaise plutôt sombre », dit Lyndell. Ils côtoient des groupes tels que ESG ou Liquid Liquid et se produisent dans des lieux désormais mythiques, de la Danceteria, et du Pyramid, à CBGBs, Limelight et le Peppermint Lounge. Ils retournent régulièrement au Mexique et jouent dans des clubs (Hip70, Nueve), ainsi qu’à la télévision mexicaine. Volti se compose donc de Lyndell (chant, claviers) et Eddie (programmation, basse, claviers), plus des invités, jouant généralement des cuivres ou des percussions latines. Ils partagent un local de répétition avec le groupe culte Konk, dont le batteur Geordie Gillespie les encourage, et les aide à enregistrer leurs premiers morceaux, qu’ils emporteront en Europe.
 
Lyndell: “Nous espérions trouver un nouveau public, qui apprécierait notre son. Nous avions entendu parler de Crammed Discs via des amis de San Francisco, et sommes allés rencontrer  Marc Hollander, qui a pensé qu’il y avait quelque chose de différent dans notre pop latino électronique avec un angle new yorkais”. A partir des enregistrements faits à NY, Volti ajoute des morceaux, des éléments et des invités (dont Vincent Kenis qui fait un solo de piano décoiffant), les titres sont ensuite mixés par le légendaire Mark Kamins (le DJ qui avait découvert Madonna et produit son premier single), avec l’équipe-maison de Crammed (Gilles Martin, Kenis & Hollander).
 
Volti travaille ensuite à un album, mais la mort soudaine de Eddie met fin à l’histoire. La présente réédition comprend les titres qui figuraient dans le EP originel, plus New York (paru dans une compilation Crammed) et un inédit, Sunny Sunday. “Volti, a multinational band with iterations in Mexico City and New York—where they performed at Downtown clubs like Danceteria—taps into the '80s exotica craze with their salsa-flavored downtempo track Corazón.” (Resident Advisor, 2021)


Releases

CRAMMED ARCHIVES 2 - RARE GLOBAL POP 1980S  - Rare Global Pop 1980s (Crammed Archives 2)
CRAMMED ARCHIVES 2 - RARE GLOBAL POP 1980S
Rare Global Pop 1980s (Crammed Archives 2)
crammedarchives2
CRAMMED ARCHIVES 2 - RARE GLOBAL POP 1980S  - Maurice Poto Doudongo - The Lost Album (1987)
CRAMMED ARCHIVES 2 - RARE GLOBAL POP 1980S
Maurice Poto Doudongo - The Lost Album (1987)
cram3177:outdec2
CRAMMED ARCHIVES 2 - RARE GLOBAL POP 1980S  - Des Airs - Lunga Notte (1982)
CRAMMED ARCHIVES 2 - RARE GLOBAL POP 1980S
Des Airs - Lunga Notte (1982)
cram3174:outdec2
CRAMMED ARCHIVES 2 - RARE GLOBAL POP 1980S  - By Chance - Revenge/Soul Kitchen (1981)
CRAMMED ARCHIVES 2 - RARE GLOBAL POP 1980S
By Chance - Revenge/Soul Kitchen (1981)
cram3173:outdec2

"Volti - Corazon (1986)"

Beatbox electro Latino pop by a young Mexican/New Yorker duo (US/Mexico)

While living in Mexico City in 1980, young New Yorker Lyndell Brookhouse had a chance encounter in an all-night diner, which would change her life forever. She met a group of punks that included Eddie Rubello, and was swept into the wild local underground scene. The pair then moved to Lyndell’s home in NYC’s Lower East Side and joined the explorative downtown art scene of the early ‘80s. “If you were a painter, you were also in a band, and if you were a musician you also painted or made films” says Lyndell, “these were extraordinary times: the rise of a nurturing community with hundreds of artists (from which international celebrities such as Basquiat, Keith Haring & Madonna emerged), a community that supported art for art’s sake, before cell phones, fine dining and the internet. This is where Volti was born”.
 
Eddie quickly mastered a Commodore 64 (one of the earliest personal computers) plus some cutting-edge ‘80s equipment, and they started making tracks. They were fresh kids creating Mexican-flavored electronic music in a NY music scene which, at the time, was generally considered dark and underground. They rubbed shoulders with the likes of ESG, Liquid Liquid & others, and played in many venues including Danceteria, The Pyramid, CBGBs, Limelight and Peppermint Lounge. Volti would also regularly return to Mexico and play clubs such as Hip70 and Nueve, and also performed on Mexico TV with Univision. So Volti were Lyndell on vocals & keyboards, Eddie on bass, drum machine & keyboards, plus added guests usually playing horns or Latin percussion. They shared a rehearsal space with cult band Konk, whose drummer Geordie Gillespie encouraged them and helped record the early tracks that Volti would later take to Europe.
 
Lyndell: “We were hoping to find a new audience that would get our sound. Having heard about Crammed Discs from San Francisco connections, we went to meet Marc Hollander, and he saw something which was different, electronic Latin pop with a NY edge”. Starting from the initial NYC recordings, Volti added more tracks and elements (including a wild piano, solo by Vincent Kenis), and the songs were mixed in Brussels by the legendary Mark Kamins (the DJ who discovered Madonna and produced her first single) with the Crammed team of Gilles Martin, Kenis & Hollander.
 
Volti then started working on a full-length album, but Eddie’s untimely death brought the story to a close. This reissue includes the tracks from the original Corazón/Money Bucks EP, plus New York (which came out on a Crammed compilation) and Sunny Sunday, a previously unreleased song.
 
Volti, a multinational band with iterations in Mexico City and New York—where they performed at Downtown clubs like Danceteria—taps into the '80s exotica craze with their salsa-flavored downtempo track Corazón.” (Resident Advisor, 2021)


Releases

CRAMMED ARCHIVES 2 - RARE GLOBAL POP 1980S  - Rare Global Pop 1980s (Crammed Archives 2)
CRAMMED ARCHIVES 2 - RARE GLOBAL POP 1980S
Rare Global Pop 1980s (Crammed Archives 2)
crammedarchives2
CRAMMED ARCHIVES 2 - RARE GLOBAL POP 1980S  - Maurice Poto Doudongo - The Lost Album (1987)
CRAMMED ARCHIVES 2 - RARE GLOBAL POP 1980S
Maurice Poto Doudongo - The Lost Album (1987)
cram3177:outdec2
CRAMMED ARCHIVES 2 - RARE GLOBAL POP 1980S  - Des Airs - Lunga Notte (1982)
CRAMMED ARCHIVES 2 - RARE GLOBAL POP 1980S
Des Airs - Lunga Notte (1982)
cram3174:outdec2
CRAMMED ARCHIVES 2 - RARE GLOBAL POP 1980S  - By Chance - Revenge/Soul Kitchen (1981)
CRAMMED ARCHIVES 2 - RARE GLOBAL POP 1980S
By Chance - Revenge/Soul Kitchen (1981)
cram3173:outdec2