“The United States is a cult, but sometimes people break away”

“The United States is a cult, but sometimes people break away”

says McCloud Zicmuse. Listen to his new Le Ton Mité album...

...a treasure trove containing 50 gems, "a sprawling record that refracts the American experience through layers of re-interpretation.... with pieces of jazz, country, roots rock, exotica, R&B and tejano... (Tiny Mix Tapes).

"The Residents' Commercial Album remade at Muscle Shoals...[with] Moondog-influenced stompers" (MOJO) 

An itinerant musician, poet, puppeteer, archer, showman and poet, and American exile in permanent residence in Brussels, McCloud Zicmuse conceived "Passé Composé Futur Conditionnel" during a trip on which he revisited the United States after an absence of 15 years.

Watch Gabriela Gonzalez' video for "Mystery Trail", a track recorded with Deerhoof's John Dieterich on guitar

Face To Face with Aquaserge

Face To Face with Aquaserge

Watch the new music video by the brilliant experimental pop band

Aquaserge present the music video for "Virage sud", the first single off their new album "Laisse ça être" to be released on Feb. 3rd.

The video was directed by the band’s bassist Audrey Ginestet and in her own words, "There's something magical watching people listening to music. The face is the reflection of the soul." 

Have a look for yourself…

New video by Lula Pena

New video by Lula Pena

"Archivo Pittoresco" released on January 27th. Here is one of the songs, in a new video beautifully directed by Catarina Limão.

We're very happy to announce Lula Pena's new album Archivo Pittoresco will be released on January 27th.

Pes Mou Mia Lexi was written by illustrious Greek composer Manos Hadjidakis: "The title means Give me the Word. I adopted it a few years ago, when Greece was the first EU country to experience economic collapse, and so we were all Greek, in a lexical world.” Lula Pena.

Archivo Pittoresco
wonderfully reflects Lula Pena’s inspired wandering: the album’s thirteen tracks often flow seamlessly into one another, as she sings (in Portuguese, French, English, Spanish, Greek, Italian) lyrics and poems by writers as diverse as Violeta Parra, herself or the Belgian surrealist Scutenaire, among others...





For all orders of minimum two CD albums and/or vinyl albums

placed on the Crammed Discs shop before Jan. 15 !

Please note the last day to place orders before the holiday break is Dec. 21

Orders placed after Dec. 21 will ship early January

Furthermore, if you a buy any 3 vinyl albums before Jan. 15

get either the Give Me New Noise : Half-Mute Reflected vinyl or Amatorski's From Clay To Figures (on vinyl) FOR FREE !

(at the payment stage during checkout, please make sure to notify us of your choice in the “Feedback” section)


Acid Arab Musique de France - OY Space Diaspora 
- Fauna Twin Water On Mars - Aquaserge Guerre EP - Le Ton Mité Mistery Trail To Space Needle- Véronique Vincent & Aksak Maboul 16 Visions Of Ex-Futur


This amazingly gorgeous collector's item: TUXEDOMOON's 10 LPs DELUXE VINYL BOX



The vinyl reissue of Minimal Compact's debut mini-album (1981) comes out on Nov 18. It's been remastered from the original tapes, pressed on 180 gr vinyl, and contains a download code.

Fronted by vocalist Samy Birnbach (aka DJ Morpheus, freestyle DJ extraordinaire and compiler of the Freezone series), Minimal Compact were one of the most inspirational bands of the '80s. They blended funky rock rhythms and incisive guitars with flavours from their native Middle East. The band were active from 1981 to 1988, and released 6 studio albums and a live album. They had a large and fanatic following all across Europe and the USA, where some of their tracks became underground club favourites.

The band's line-up consisted of Samy Birnbach (vocals), Rami Fortis (vocals, guitar), Max Franken (drums), Berry Sakharof (guitar, vocals, keyboards) and Malka Spigel (bass, vocals).

Pre-order here

Aksak Maboul 'Revue' show in London

Aksak Maboul 'Revue' show in London

Feat. Laetitia Sadier, Aquaserge & Jaakko Eino Kalevi, this Saturday!
The last show by the Aksak Maboul 'Revue' takes place this Sat. Nov 5. at Kings Place, London. 2h30 of music by Laetitia Sadier, Aquaserge, Jaakko Eino Kalevi & Aksak Maboul, performing each other's music, together & separately. 

Plus DJ sets by Bullion, Capitol K and Hello Skinny.

Tickets & info here

To celebrate this, Jaakko Eino Kalevi has concocted a mixtape with music by all the artists involved. Click here to hear the mixtape


KONONO N°1 & BATIDA say "Bom Dia"!

Les Inrockuptibles premiere the new video by Konono n°1 & Batida, and are dubbing them "Purveyors of Joy"....

The joyful music video illustrating this track from the new Konono n°1 album was shot by Catarina Limão (who is a.o. the VJ in the collective around Batida), during rehearsals for the common live show by the Congolese band and the Angolan-Portuguese electronic musician.

In the lyrics of the song, which mix Kikongo, Portuguese and French, Konono n°1 leader Augustin Mawangu imagines that he fortuitously meets some of his partners (his manager, the boss of his label…) in the streets of Brazil or Australia, reconverted into fish or banana vendors, following the collapse of the music industry… Premonitory vision, warning or plain fun? Future will tell…  

Konono N°1 are on tour in Europe NOW!

DATES here



The first video for FAUNA TWIN's upcoming THE HYDRA EP

Fauna Twin — the latest, exciting addition to the Crammed roster— are Parisian singer-songwriter Claire Jacquemard & North Wales’ Owain Ginsberg (leader of “Hippies Vs Ghosts” and “We Are Animal”). They’ve just put the finishing touch to their debut EP, the epic “The HYDRA EP”, which will be out in October with a string of shows around Europe. Fauna Twin’s debut album is scheduled for release in 2017.

Towards the end of last year, the band have circulated a couple of unfinished tracks which have elicited great reactions from the BBC6 and several online media across the UK, US and Canada, all obviously intoxicated by Fauna Twin’s melodies, atmospheres and dramatic percussions, and by the beauty of Claire’s voice.

This is how Fauna Twin describe their own music: “our influences are a massive tornado of different styles, from Queen to King Crimson, crossing by PJ Harvey, Fiona Apple via R. Stevie Moore to Radiohead. This leads us to a chameleon church with no god, where we commit everyday. Fauna Twin’s music turns into a kind of hybrid shoegazish-drama-pop with a special appeal for textures, structures and constructed rhythm sections.”


New music by AQUASERGE, ACID ARAB, FAUNA TWIN, LE TON MITÉ and singles from the upcoming, 2017 albums by YASMINE HAMDAN and JUANA MOLINA: This is what will be awaiting you in the Fall! Meanwhile, here is Aquaserge's intriguing new video, 'Les Zouzes'

New video by Flavien Berger x Véronique Vincent & Aksak Maboul

New video by Flavien Berger x Véronique Vincent & Aksak Maboul

"Je pleure tout le temps"

Je pleure tout le temps (Contrelarme Version) was arranged and performed by French electropop wonder kid Flavien Berger for Véronique Vincent & Aksak Maboul's 16 Visions of Ex-Futur, an album of covers & reworks which comes out on October 14.

The majestic video was written & directed by Robin Lachenal (who has worked on Flavien Berger's remarkable previous 13 videos…), and was jointly produced by the artists' respective labels, Crammed Discs and Pan European Recording, along with video company Kidam.

Noteworthy trivia (as they say on movie sites) #1: the aerial shots were filmed from a drone flying among the high-rise buildings in La Défense area near Paris, which is a first. #2: the main character is played by Michel Dejeneffe, a puppeteer and ventriloquist who had his own, very popular TV shows in France & Belgium back in the 80s ("Tatayet").
previous page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15  next page