"Give Me New Noise : Half-Mute Reflected"
2CD, LP+7''
1. Nazca - Simon Fisher Turner
2. 59 to 1 - Zero Gravity Thinkers
3. Fifth Column - The Man From Managra feat. Blaine L. Reininger
4. Tritone (Musica Diablo)- Norscq
5. Loneliness - Cult With No Name
6. James Whale - DopplAr
7. What Use? - Foetus

In 1980, Tuxedomoon created a sensation with their masterpiece debut album Half-Mute, which immediately established them as one of the leading avant-garde pop bands.

36 years later, in the spring of 2016, Tuxedomoon’s original members, Steven Brown, Peter Principle and Blaine Reininger, joined by Luc van Lieshout, will get together to revisit Half-Mute and perform it live on a series of exclusive shows around Europe.

On this occasion, Half-Mute will be reissued, along with GIVE ME NEW NOISE, a tribute album for which 13 artists have specially created covers of all songs from Half-Mute and from the album’s associated singles.

The contributors include Foetus/JG Thirlwell, Aksak Maboul, Simon Fisher Turner, DopplAr (feat. 2 members from Amatorski), Cult With No Name and others, with special appearances by the three makers of Half-Mute, Steven Brown, Peter Principle and Blaine Reininger.

GIVE ME NEW NOISE was conceived and curated by Philippe Perreaudin, a founding member of French band Palo Alto.

Philippe Perreaudin has loved the music of Tuxedomoon ever since Patrick Roques beautiful artwork drove him to listen to Half-Mute, sometime in the mid-80s. In 2006, he put together Next To Nothing, a tribute album to the band. In 2015, he came up with the idea to assemble a tribute to Half-Mute, to celebrate the album’s 35th anniversary, without knowing at the time that Tuxedomoon would decide to revisit the album in concert.

Philippe’s idea was to create a mirror image of the album by asking ten artists to each cover one of the songs from Half-Mute. In order to stay close to the Tuxedomoon atmosphere, he first turned to some of the band’s friends and collaborators, as well as to some artists associated with Palo Alto.

He also asked the three creators of Half-Mute (Steven Brown, Blaine L. Reininger and Peter Principle) to take part in the project, they kindly accepted.

To complete the track list, he then commissioned cover versions of two songs which came out on singles around the release of Half-Mute in 1980, Crash and Dark Companion.

Finally, excited by the resurrection of Aksak Maboul, he asked Marc Hollander to cover a song of his choice, Marc opted for Tritone (Musica Diablo).

Give Me New Noise : Half-Mute Reflected comes out in three formats: as a stand-alone vinyl LP (with covers of the original 10 songs, plus two bonuses contained on a 7“ vinyl inserted in the LP), as a digital album (with three bonus tracks), and as part of the new CD edition of Half-Mute, along with the remastered original album. The CD edition also contains the three bonuses. Some of the tracks come in different versions according to the format.

Give me new noise, give me new affection
Strange new toys from another world
I need to see more than just three dimensions
Stranger than fiction
Faster than light

(What Use? - Tuxedomoon)

CD track listing:

1. Simon Fisher Turner: Nazca
2. Zero Gravity Thinkers:  59 to 1
(Peter Principle + Dok Gregory)

3. The Man from Managra feat. Blaine L. Reininger:  Fifth Column 

4. Norscq Tritone (Musica Diablo)

5. Cult With No Name : Loneliness 
6. DopplAr : James Whale 

7. Foetus : What Use?
8. Palo Alto feat. Steven Brown : Volo Vivace
9.  Georgio 'the Dove' Valentino & Grey Lotus : 7 Years

10.  2kilos &More & Julius Gabriel : KM/ Seeding The Clouds 

11. Aksak Maboul : Tritone (Musica Diablo)

12. Non Finito Orchestra : Crash

13. el TiGeR CoMiCs GRoUP : Dark Companion 


VARIOUS ARTISTS - Give Me New Noise : Half-Mute Reflected
Give Me New Noise : Half-Mute Reflected
CRAMMED ARCHIVES 2 - RARE GLOBAL POP 1980S  - Rare Global Pop 1980s
Rare Global Pop 1980s
VARIOUS ARTISTS - The Now Sound Of Brasil 2
The Now Sound Of Brasil 2